Christmas Cookie Bake-athon

December slipped through my fingers!  The beginning of the month was consumed with paper writing, followed by finals, followed by a trip to visit family and friends around Ohio.  By the time we were back home, it was December 24th.

Ian was scheduled to work back to back days starting with Christmas and running through New Year’s Eve, so I decided to keep myself busy by baking for his co-workers and for the awesome maintenance staff of our building.  I’ve practiced my hand at chocolate chip cookies before, but I wanted to send along a variety of sweets.  Gingerbread cookies seemed appropriate for the season and I found a cherry jam cookie recipe that sounded promising.

I rounded up the ingredients for the three types of cookies and busted out my stand mixer for the first time.  It worked like a DREAM for creaming the butter in all three recipes.  No blisters this time around!  The bake-athon took two days, almost eight sticks of butter, and it all began with the Joy the Baker‘s cherry jam cookie recipe.

Cherry Jam Cookies – I was intrigued by the use of cherry preserves in this recipe.  Its simplicity and description convinced me to attempt them for the gifts, but the outcome was not quite what I expected.  They were fluffy, sweet, and the tiny bits of cherry were pleasant surprises in each bite.  That being said, I wasn’t impressed.  They were so understated that I felt guilty including them with the other two types of cookies.  I can see these being a nice treat alongside a cup of tea and perhaps they would be even more tasty with some blackberry jam.  These are just things to consider for next time…

Chocolate Chip Cookies – Next up was my trusted chocolate chip recipe.  I always refer to nestle’s site when baking these.  The only changes I make are 1) I use ghirardelli semi-sweet chips instead of nestle’s chips (personal preference) and 2) I add 1 cup of quick oatmeal instead of chopped nuts.  I love making these cookies.  I’ve tried a few other recipes, but I always come back to this one.  These sweet treats are always a hit!Soft Gingerbread Cookies – Lastly, the bake-athon was wrapped up with this delicious recipe.  The description doesn’t lie – they are really soft and delicious!  The comments on this recipe are all correct though, so be sure to flatten the cookies once you place them on the cookie sheet.

It’s Monday, December 27th.  Another semester has been completed (the 4.0 streak continues), cookies have been delivered, and Christmas cards have been sent out (albeit it late!).  We have four more days left this year and I have a lot I want to do!  It’s going to be a busy couple of days…  What are your plans for bringing in the new year?

Posted on December 27, 2010, in Dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. These look yummy–I just hope Nestle doesn’t read this post….

Leave a Reply

