Spicy Vegetable Blah-ness

I strongly dislike starting December with a mediocre recipe.  I’m a sucker for soup, but something about this didn’t appeal to me.

The combination of spices sounded interesting (cumin seeds and chili flakes), and it even called for fresh ginger!  But somewhere between the blended sweet potatoes and chickpeas, and the added spinach, it fell flat.  Luckily, I made cornbread muffins to go with the soup, and they salvaged the meal.  The soup didn’t taste as bland with the crumbled muffins in it 🙂

Lame as this post (and soup) has been, there are exciting things on the horizon!  Two of my friends have agreed to let me showcase their favorite recipe on Feature Friday!  I’m also hoping to get a step-by-step “how to” from mom on her delicious spanish tortilla.  It’s all very exciting and I look forward to sharing it with you!

Here’s to December, and to the end of 2010!

Posted on December 2, 2010, in Soup and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It happens to us all and there is no shame in it 🙂 Anyone that tells you otherwise is a mentiroso. I can’t wait to see your Mom’s Spanish tortilla post. We use to by it from our local grocery store (in Paris) and it was my favorite snack. I can’t get it here so I’m really excited to see your Mom’s. Also looking forward to your other post.

  2. Hate it when that happens! Feature Friday sounds exciting…

Leave a Reply

