Apple Gingerbread Cake

I am not an adventurous baker (yet).  Before I started this blog last month, I had 2 baked goods in my repertoire:  a chocolate chip cake recipe, and a chocolate chip cookie recipe (taken from the back of the Nestle package).  I’m just not that into sweets.

Wait!  Did I just read that right?  Did she just say she’s not into sweets?!

Yes.  You did.  It’s strange.  I know.

Almost as strange as the fact that I don’t eat cheese or peanut butter… but that’s for a different day.

That being said, I really do enjoy subtle desserts.  I especially enjoy the bread-like variety (i.e. pumpkin bread, applesauce cake) but I just haven’t tried to make one again since my last flop.  As I mentioned yesterday, I recently acquired a cookbook titled 1,000 Vegetarian Recipes.  I found this recipe and decided I wanted to try it out.

After glancing through the ingredients, I wondered about the lack of milk.  I always thought it was necessary to bake with milk…but apparently I’m wrong!!  I had all of the ingredients on hand except for the whole wheat flour (which I have never baked with before) and the yogurt.  I stopped by the store this morning to pick them up and by this afternoon, I set out to BAKE!

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease one 8 inch square baking pan.
  2. Peel and dice apples.
  3. In one bowl, mix: flours, ginger, baking powder and soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice.
  4. In a second bowl, mix: oil and egg.  Then add sugar and molasses and mix.
  5. Alternate adding the flour mix and the yogurt slowly to the second bowl.
  6. Stir in apples.
  7. Bake for 40 min.

40 minutes later, I pulled out the pan and let it cool.  The last touch was a simple sprinkle of confectioner’s sugar over the cake with a small mesh strainer.

The cake turned out surprisingly delicious.  (I don’t know why it’s surprising, but after having as many kitchen related FAILS as I do, I am always apprehensive.)  It’s another recipe for the binder!  This now makes 2 successful recipes from my new cookbook!  Hurray!

Very easy and very tasty.  It will go beautifully with my afternoon cup of tea tomorrow 🙂

Posted on October 27, 2010, in Dessert and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. For someone who not into sweets, you sure made a heck of a cake!

  2. This is my kinda of cake! Good spices, use of fruit and whole wheat flour. I would like to try this out in little cakelets/cupcake/muffin form. Nicely done! Thank you for visiting my blog earlier today. 🙂

  3. oh man.. so many food bloggers are posting the most deceiving amazing delicious pictures of their sweets!! i want to make everything!! your gingerbread cake is one of my faves! what a great idea to make this… considering i have a boatload of apples. my mum went to apple picking three times recently and i just made 2 apple pies since last week!

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      A boatload of apples?! That’s a great problem to have! This recipe only calls for 2 apples, but it’s a start on making a dent in your surplus!

      I know what you mean about the food bloggers and sweet treats! It’s a serious problem every time my RSS feeders updates with a new post. Makes me drool… and want to go home and immediately start baking!

  4. hi there visiting from Spice Foodie. Love apple cakes, this one looks like its so moist! Will have to try this one 🙂

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      Hi Claudia! Thank you so much for visiting! The spicie foodie roundup really has some awesome posts, no? I’m enjoying exploring all of the new blogs!

  5. Hola Rocio,
    Your cake looks perfect to me! I’m also not such a big deserts or sweets person, I prefer salty and spicy. I’m glad you had such great results with this recipe, it’s one I’ll have to try. (I’ll tell you a secret, I’m not a very good baker. I have much to learn.) Thanks for joining the YBR and I hope you will join us again next month. Also Thanks for adding the badge on your sidebar. Happy Halloween and hasta pronto.

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      The fact that I could successfully pull this off should tell you how easy it is to bake! And it’s true… I would eat a bag of chips before I’d crave a cupcake. The roundup looks like a success, Nancy! Felicidades!

  6. Welcome to blogging! I find it as addicting as baking! Your cake looks divine and I could use a slice with tomorrow mornings tea (I don’t do coffee)!

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      Hi Laura 🙂 It has been a lot of fun experimenting with different recipes and then sharing with the food blogging world. The feedback I’ve gotten with tips and recommendations have really been invaluable!! Thank you so much for the kind welcome!

Leave a Reply

