Feature Friday: An evening with Rebecca

The Cast

The top right photo is of the beautiful hostess (Rebecca) and yours truly.  Immediately to the right of that photo you will see our supervisor, Julian.  To his right, you will see a picture of Clementine (she kept an eye on us from her perch in the dresser).  The final picture in the first row is a shot of a guilty Aaron licking the last of the chocolate from the pan.

Mel starts out the second row with a smirk of amusement (exactly 2 seconds after this photo was taken we both dove into that delicious bowl of popcorn).  Next up is our hostess enjoying the last spoonful of her peanut butter cup.  And lastly, we have Aaron, Rebbecca, and Mel showing off an amazing recipe from the Joy of Jello cookbook.  (Yes, you read that right.)  Did you see the picture that I posted of one of its recipes?  It’s awesome/awful!

Dinner

Rebecca is part of a CSA that delivers fresh fish and seafood to her each week.  This week, she invited us over to grill the fish, cook up the clams, and to introduce me to a few new desserts.

There were several different types of fish that she put on the grill, and I’m afraid I do not know what any of them were.  As the fish cooked up, Rebecca threw some cut up potatoes into the oven to bake and then prepared the clams.  The clams were ready before everything else, so they became our appetizers as we hung out in the kitchen sipping on our tasty wine.

Once the fish were flaky and cooked through, we each loaded up our plates and sat down to feast.  My plate was overflowing with yummy goodness!

The lineup included fish, potatoes, roasted cauliflower and zucchini, and kimchi (from my recent trip to Grand Asia).  I know that I ate at least two different types of fish, and both were phenomenal.  The entire meal (company included) was amazing.

But wait!

There’s more!

As if we hadn’t stuffed ourselves silly with fish and veggies… there were two desserts that were next on the menu.

Dessert 1 – Bacon, Cashew, and Cranberry Popcorn

If you’re like Rebecca, you hear the description of the popcorn and go “YUM!!!”  If you’re like me, you hear it and go “huh?”  And this is precisely why I think she’s so amazing: she isn’t afraid to try different combinations and wing the recipes.  She’s learned what will work and what won’t, and if it doesn’t turn out – who cares?  This particular treat was introduced by her mom and has been all the rave since Rebecca’s first batch.

I can’t begin to tell you how mind blowingly delicious this turned out.  Mel and I could not stop grabbing handfuls of the stuff!

Dessert 2 – Peanut Butter Cups

Ok.  Here’s where I make you gasp… I don’t like peanut butter.  Weird, right?  Yes, I know.  I hear that a lot.  You have to cut me some slack though, because it’s not something I grew up with.  The taste and texture freak me out!  I do give it to the dog in her kong, does that count?

Mel had requested that Rebecca make her famous peanut butter cups.  After super (as we munched on the popcorn), we got to work on these bad boys.  The chocolate was melted and then painted inside of cupcake cups before being placed in the fridge to cool.  Aaron then got to work on breaking up the graham crackers as Mel spooned out the peanut butter.  Once the mix was ready, it was distributed into the cupcake cups.  The last step was to cover the mix with a thick layer of chocolate before putting them back in the fridge for a bit.

Voila!  Once those puppies were cool, we had a homemade peanut butter cup!  How cool is that?  I can’t personally vouch for the final product, but I did hear a lot of “mmmmmmmmmmm”s from around the table.

 

There you have it!  My awesome evening at Rebecca’s with Mel and Aaron!  I learned how to know when fish on the grill is ready.  I learned how to make the most kick butt popcorn I have ever had.  And I learned how to make homemade peanut butter cups.  Full evening, don’t you think?

Thank you so much for having me over Rebecca!

Posted on October 22, 2010, in Dessert, Seafood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. re fish…. spot (my favorite), triggerfish, and… um…. pompano??? Is that a kind of fish?

    I should also add that the clams were unbearably sandy, despite my feeding them cornmeal. I cannot get the hang of clams.

    Thanks for helping me eat them! I was kind of hip-deep in fish, there….

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      I’m glad you posted the names of the fish!! You were too hard on the clams! They were good! Oh… and anytime you need help getting out of being hip-deep in fish… just let me know. Love you!

  2. Wow you guys really got busy didn’t you!! I want a peanut butter cup so bad!

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      Hello Ms. Half Marathon runner! Are you still smiling ear to ear from your triumph? You DESERVE a yummy peanut butter cup!!

  3. It looks like such a fun evening. I would also like some pb cups, they look delicious!

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      Hi Nancy! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. I’m really enjoying yours! The peanut butter cups were really easy to make (and I’m told they were delicious too!). Happy Friday!

      • Hi Rocio,
        They do look delicious, I need to make them sometime since I can’t get the real Reeses ones in Europe. Thanks for your kind words.

        I’m sorry I don’t see an email for you so I’ll have to write it here. Don’t feel that you wouldn’t be right for the event. Technical skill nor status are important, I want everyone to participate. It won’t be about judging others on skills, it’s about sharing ideas and an interest. So I hope you reconsider:)
        Nancy

  1. Pingback: Hello 2011! «

Leave a Reply

