My Dolsot Pots

This story makes my mother shake her head.  I can’t say that I blame her…

My parents spent a few years in Seoul, Korea while I was in college.  During my sophomore year, I took a quarter off of school to go and visit them.  I always knew I loved to travel, but this opportunity really cemented this fact for me.  I had never traveled farther east than Spain, and the culture shock was intoxicating.  I loved everything about Korea.  The people I met, the sites we visited, the food… the food was phenomenal.  It was so different to anything I had ever had and it was addicting.  I instantly fell in love with kimchi.

The first time I tried a dolsot bibimbap was at this place that was close to where my parents were living.  It was love at first taste.  I walked to that restaurant for lunch as often as I could just to have that yummy rice goodness.  I’d occasionally try different dishes, but nothing compared to the simplicity and scrumptiousness of the bibimbap.

When the time came for me to return to the States, my mother took me to the market.  We picked up two beautiful dolsot pots so that I could recreate this dish when I got home.

Believe me, the first few weeks I was home, I tried (almost every other day) to recreate this dish.  But I soon gave up.  My attempts didn’t compare (years later, I figured out that it was the type of paste I was using!) to the original.  The pots sat in my cupboard, unused for 2 years.

Until one day…

I was at my sister’s place visiting for the weekend…

And this stray dog showed up.

She was mangy, wormy, tick infested, and desperate for love.  Of course I ended up bringing her home with me, but the problem was that I was not set up for a dog.  I lacked the essentials: a crate, a bed, food bowls… oh… wait a minute.  I had these two bowls in the cupboard that were perfect for this size of a dog.

Four years later, those beautiful pots are still her food bowls.

I realize it is blasphemous.  On some level, I know that she wouldn’t realize the difference if I switched the bowls out.  But where am I going to find a bowl that isn’t plastic, that I can put in the microwave to heat up her green beans (not my idea – it was the vet’s recommendation), and that keeps her water unbelievably cool in the summer?

I need to find some new pots.

I haven’t been able to find them online, and even if I did, I don’t know that it would be cost efficient to buy them and ship them (those bad boys are HEAVY!).  I’m hoping to do some searching the next time I’m in the DC area visiting my parents.  There has to be a place to pick up some dolsot pots around there.  Right?  There has to be!

 

 

Posted on October 18, 2010, in Simmerings. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hilarious! I can see why she’s shaking her head. I’ve never seen those before–sorry I can’t help.

  2. Oh, my goodness! What a sweet dog! Thanks for sharing this story.

  3. (Here is Mother shaking her head) I know where to get similar bowls. At the neighborhood’s Asian supermarket I have seen them from time to time. Or we can go to Annandale, have some bibimpap at Ye Chon and search the neighborhood. Mmmmm. Yum.

  1. Pingback: Bibimbap, how I love thee «

Leave a Reply

