Grand Asia Market – Part 1

This has to be a two-part review.  The Grand Asia grocery store has so much to offer, and I didn’t even get to explore it all!  Next time, I’m going to plan on eating at their in-store restaurant, the Joy Luck Club, and I will take a camera.

In preparation for a meal that is on the menu for this week, I went in search of a good Asian grocery store.  After reading a few local threads, I decided to visit the Grand Asia Market.  I was not disappointed.  The store was large!  Compared to the place I use to visit on 15-501 business, this store was palatial.  I wandered the aisles in awe of the selection and the variety of products (some labeled in English, others not).  I can’t wait to experiment and explore the different items this place has to offer.

As for today’s visit, I just came home with a few of my favorite things.  From left to right:

  • Genmaicha – green tea with brown rice
  • Fava beans – so that I can attempt the appetizer we had in Boston,
  • Shrimp Shumai – I love these dumplings!,
  • Kimchee – a.k.a. kimchi – my favorite cabbage side dish,
  • Red pepper paste – to add to the recipe I’m going to attempt this week,
  • Shiitake and Enoki mushrooms – I couldn’t get over how cheap these were, so I had to pick them up.
Posted on October 14, 2010, in Local Places and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What fun finds! Love those crazy little enoki mushrooms!

  1. Pingback: Feature Friday: An evening with Rebecca «

Leave a Reply

