Edible Art

I can’t tell you how bummed I am about our most recent visit to Edible Art.  Ian’s parents were coming to visit us to celebrate his birthday so in preparation, we put in an order with the same bakery that did our wedding cake.  The wedding cake, by the way, was awesome and left guests raving about it long after the last slice had been devoured.  Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for Ian’s birthday cake…

I don’t know what happened!  Maybe the baker was rushing and not paying attention?  The pound cake was undercooked and dense.  It was… the kind of rookie mistake I expect when I’m baking.  One bite was all I could handle between the sweetness of the amaretto icing and the dense and damp almond cake.  I was embarrassed to admit that this was the same place that had done our cake and bummed by how bad it turned out.

Given some of the other bakeries we are discovering around town, I wouldn’t recommend Edible Art now.  Maybe it was just a fluke, but I don’t think I’d risk serving bad cake again.


Posted on October 11, 2010, in Local Places and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey, Rocio!
    I’m sorry about Ian’s cake – it happends.
    I can tell from experience that the 2nd time is always the worst…
    Haha. Sad but true 😛
    Anyhow.. Thank you so much for your lovely comment on my blog – I loved hearing from you!
    And yes – você falou tudo certo. Agradeço todos os dias pelo fato de ter a mãe que tenho. Ela está sempre do meu lado, nas horas boas e ruins. Eu a amo infinitamente 🙂
    It’s great to know you speak portuguese! When did you learn it? And where?
    Hehe, too many questions, I know. But it’s so rare to find someone who speaks both English and Portuguese! Specially with Portuguese beeing the second language 🙂
    Wish you a great Monday!
    Brazilian XOXO’s,
    Gabriela

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      Oi Gabriela!
      I was bummed about Ian’s cake too. Que chato…
      Pra responder sua pergunta, eu morei no Brasil pra 9 anos. Sou espanhola/americana de sangue, mas brasileira de coracao!
      Espero que sua semana esta indo bem, e estou torcendo por você!
      Um grande abraco!!

Leave a Reply

