Teriyaki Pork? or Teriyaki Leather?

Dear Food Blogosphere,

What am I doing wrong?  Have I offended the Apicius’ memory?  I feel like the last two days have been riddled with rookie mistakes, but I don’t know what they are.  First, there was yesterday’s chicken.  Then, there was today’s excuse for teriyaki pork.  I love crock pots and meat recipes, so what happened?

I found a recipe in my “Fix-it and Forget-it” cook book for teriyaki pork that looked promising.  7 hours later, the result was a tough pork chop that was almost completely flavorless.  I couldn’t even finish it.  Luckily, the dog loved eating my leftovers!  The only saving grace of this meal was the green beans recipe that I served with the pork (pictured in the back of the center photo).  I’ll post that recipe tomorrow.  It deserves its own post and feature cause I’m not going to lie, it was kind of awesome.

Anyhow, I hope you all are doing well.  If you have any ideas or tips on why this flopped, please let me know!  Please?

Love,

~Rocio

(a.k.a. Apicius’ lousy Apprentice)

Posted on October 1, 2010, in Pork and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Dear Apicius:
    There are cuts of pork or beef that I will not put in a crock pot. Pork loin and chops are two of them. Roasts, yes, ground beef, yes. Chicken, NO. Bad recipe, Apicius.
    Chalk it up to experience.
    You do have to cook critically!

Leave a Reply

