Chicken w. Mushroom Sage Sauce

What do you do with chicken tenderloins that have been sitting in the freezer for 2 weeks?  My usual solution is breaded chicken, but I wanted to try something new today.

I found this mushroom sage sauce recipe and decided to give it a go.  The only ingredient I didn’t have on hand was the mushrooms, but that was an easy fix.  I cut up and sauteed the shallots, added the mushrooms, and followed the last few steps before letting the sauce do its thing.  In a different frying pan, I added the diced up chicken and let it brown.

Because of my recent frustration with brown rice, I decided I was going to make some egg noodles instead.  My mom prepares egg noodles by drizzling a bit of olive oil and sprinkling some poppy seeds on top.  I love, love, LOVE eating my noodles this way…

Once the sauce was nice and thick, I added the chicken and spooned it over the noodles.

The result was… mediocre.  I’m bummed.  My noodles came out great though, does that count?

I don’t know if it was the type wine that I added, or the fact that I used dried spices instead of fresh, but my taste buds were not doing a happy dance with this one.  Was it me or was it the recipe??

It wasn’t the worst thing I’ve made, but I won’t be trying this sauce again.  Blah.

Posted on September 30, 2010, in Chicken and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sorry your dish didn’t turn out the way you hoped–it happens to all of us!

Leave a Reply

