5 reasons why cooking frustrates me!

In early June, the Huffington Post featured an article by summertomato.com‘s Darya Pino.  (If you haven’t spent time on her site, I highly recommend it.  It is a goldmine of information.)  The article was titled “10 Reasons You Hate to Cook.”  I thought it was appropriate to mention since it (for the most part) sums up why I’m in my mid 20’s and still haven’t learned the secrets of the trade.  5 out of the 10 reasons applied.

5 reasons why I’m not good at cooking:

  1. You suck at itWhy thank you… I wouldn’t have summed it up that way, but I suppose if the shoe fits!  I don’t hate cooking, I’m just not good at it yet.  And that’s exactly why I’m trying to learn.
  2. You’re slowYes, I am slow.  I take forever to cut stuff… but I have two good reasons:  First, I’m a clutz.  If there’s a way to hurt myself – I will find it!  I have to be careful cutting things or I’ll end up losing a finger!  Second, I’m slightly o.c.d. about cutting everything into equal sized pieces.  It’s stupid, I know.  I’ll get over it at some point… right?
  3. You pick complicated recipesDr. Prayo states: “Learn to fly before you jump off a cliff.” Guilty as charged.  I get ambitious because I want to learn NOW, and then I wonder why super was a flop.
  4. You choose out of season ingredientsThis ties into the previous reason.  I’m trying to get out of the habit of choosing recipes simply because they sounds delicious.  I want to get in to the habit of cooking with what’s in season.  There’s a learning curve to this… give me a break!
  5. You skipped the farmer’s marketHow’d you know?!  Maybe if I didn’t skip the farmer’s market, I would know what ingredients are in season, and then cook accordingly – is that your point?  Ooohhhhh.  NOW I get it.  It’s all connected!  Ah ha.

5 reasons why there’s still hope:

  1. You have crappy knviesNope!  Not a concern!  We got an awesome set as a gift for our wedding.  So we’re cool on the knives.
  2. You only cook for large groupsI love, love, love cooking for friends.  I can’t help it, it’s the Spaniard in me.
  3. Your pantry is inadequateThe reason this isn’t a problem is because of my affinity for trying complicated recipes.  I’ve tried so many that I’ve collected a sizeable spice collection along the way!
  4. You only cook for special occasionsNot true.  I cook all the time!  I even practice my dishes before special occasions.  (Please don’t tell anybody about this one… it’s embarrassing to admit.)
  5. You don’t ask for helpWell, it’s partly true… I don’t ask for help.  But thankfully, I have a husband who knows his bull-headed wife.  Even when I don’t ask for help, he knows when to jump right in and help.

The important thing to remember here is patience.  Some people are born with talents, others have to learn them.  I’m working on becoming a member of the latter category.  Until then, I’ll keep trying new recipes and reading all of those wonderful food blogs out there by people who know what they are doing!

Posted on September 23, 2010, in Simmerings. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is so true and I think I’m with you on all counts. I cook like a chemist, measuring each grain and piece!

    On another note – I know I’ve been getting used to calling your husband as such, but you referring to yourself as a “wife”… yeah, I’m not used to that one yet. WEIRD!

Leave a Reply

