Honey Ginger Salmon

I love fresh seafood.  Unfortunately, I can’t always afford the things I love.  As a close substitute, we try to keep frozen fillets of fish in the freezer (say that ten times fast!).  In the past I would cook all fish in a similar manner.  I would defrost the fillets, place them in a pyrex, drizzle olive oil over them, and then place minced garlic on top.  It’s the only foolproof way I know to make fish.  But this isn’t about foolproof cooking, now is it?  It’s about experimenting!  Here are the pictures of my next attempt at a new recipe

I wonder if this marinade would be good on chicken or beef… may have to look in to that…

I prepped the marinade early in the day so that I could let the salmon soak for a while (the recipe suggested 30 minutes – I left it for 3 hours).  We don’t have a grill, so I preheated the oven to 400 before throwing the salmon fillets in.  30 minutes later…


Dinner was ready!  I served the salmon with some steamed edamame and spooned some of the marinade over white rice.  Not too shabby if I may say so myself!  Definitely holding on to this marinade recipe.

Posted on September 21, 2010, in Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. But it was not brown rice.

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      No… sadly… no brown rice. Brown rice and I are not on speaking terms at the moment. I’ve tried getting together with it twice in the last week and it has failed me. By “failed me” I mean come out too mushy.

      • Really? But it is usually nutty. Are you simmering too long? I have become a huge fan of brown rice because of that nuttiness.

  2. Ai mae, you would like the nuttiness!

    Love what you’re doing here Chio, really makes me miss having a kitchen! Stack up the good recipes so that when I get one I can take your food out for a drive!

Leave a Reply

