Beans and Corn Salad

Beans, beans, the magical fruit…  we’ve been trying to incorporate more of them into our diet.  The problem is that I hate having to soak them for hours and it requires more foresight than I usually care to have.  To solve this problem I’ve been cheating and buying canned beans.  I stick them in a pot with some water and a bay leaf and warm it up that way.  It just gets old constantly serving beans in such a bland manner…  Thankfully, there’s this great tool called the internet with billions of solutions!  I searched my fail-safe site and found a promising recipe.

I’m infamous for buying fresh produce and then not using it before it spoils.  Fresh herbs are often a victim of this habit.  Determined not to let that happen with this recipe, I decided to try cilantro in a tube.  One good thing to know is that one of these tubes yields about 1/2 cup of “blend.”

What I loved most about this recipe was that it didn’t require any cooking.  All I needed was a cutting board and a bowl.  I made it ahead of time and then threw it in the fridge to mingle.  It wasn’t too spicy and it had a nice combination of flavors.

I haven’t been having luck making brown rice (more on this later) so I just had the salad on its own with a tuna salad sandwich for lunch.

Very easy and light.  I have a feeling this will become a regular on our summer menu!

Posted on September 21, 2010, in Salad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So colorful!! Perfect for summer

    • Apicius' Apprentice

      It really is colorful! And very flavorful! I can see why they recommend serving it over brown rice. If only I could get brown rice to cook right…

  2. Dear AA:
    You do not have to soak the beans for hours and hours or overnight. If you have forgotten–and this happens to me all the time–put them in a pan with water covering them and boil them for about two minutes. Let them rest for at least an hour with a lid on. Then proceed with your marvelous recipe, put the bay leaf and simmering for 45 min to an hour. They will be so much better than canned!
    Congrats on the blog. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

